Reviews

I booked the Balcony table with Randolph and would like to congratulate the staff the food , service and atmosphere met all our expectations we would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a venue for a special touch of class well done everyone keep up the good work. Brett October 2nd, 2017
Our children arranged a surprise 40th Wedding Anniversary luncheon for my wife and myself at Paymasters. The friendly, yet very professional staff were well matched by the excellent food. Their patience in managing our large family group was amazing. Their efforts added to what was a special day for my wife and myself. Thank you to Paymasters staff. Terry Keating September 12th, 2016
I'm not somebody who ever writes reviews but after being twice to Paymasters in the last few months for dinner, I thought your staff deserve some recognition. Excellent service!!! Great food! The MaitreManager is friendly & down to earth yet provides excellent service. Thanks for another great night. We will be back! Wes September 3rd, 2016
Paymasters is my favourite restaurant. I have been a regular patron since 1997 when I was first diagnosed with Coeliac Disease. Rodney and Randolph are amazing with the service they provide, they cannot do enough for you and we are never less than totally impressed by the food every time we eat there. Word of mouth is the best advertisement and I sing their praises at every opportunity. Jo Dare August 7th, 2016
Our daughter gave us a gift card for our wedding anniversary last August life has been hectic for us so 7months later got to use it, very impressed with food and service, we will visit again! Veronica and Paul Paul March 2nd, 2016
Rodney and the team were incredibly accomodating and went above and beyond in their service. An extensive menu, beautiful meals and an excellent location that made this meal a highlight of our trip. An excellent stop for anyone visiting newcastle Lauren February 6th, 2016
So you can go out for a meal, or you can go to PAYMASTERS for a dining experience. Food is amazing, restaurant is atmospheric and the views are fabulous. Highly recommended, will be talking about this for a long time to come. anonymous January 10th, 2016
Top dining in Newcastle NSW 5 of 5 stars Good service and friendly staff without being too gushy. Excellent food and meal sizes. Reasonably expensive but well worth it - great value for money. Atmosphere excellent. Source
Trip Advisor
December 19th, 2014
Great meals and Historical building 5 of 5 stars The restaurant building carried a rich Australian past. It has been restored and many of the original characteristics have been maintained. The food was great and the hospitality was amazing. It has a lovely outlook and the ambience is wonderful. Source
Trip Advisor
December 19th, 2014
Great venue - great service - great food 5 of 5 stars I've had lunch here twice in the last few weeks. You cannot fault the service. Nothing is too much. The menu is explained, there is a good choice of wines from reasonable to top notch. They even do separate bills if you are in a group. I'd happily go back time and again for breakfast on a Sunday morning, a weekend lunch or a special dinner. If you are a couple on a night out ask for the upstairs balcony. Source
Trip Advisor
December 19th, 2014
A wonderful evening I wanted to show off Newcastle for my Sydney-based relatives who were visiting for my 30th birthday, and Rodney and his team at Paymasters could not have been more accommodating. Beautiful food, combined with warm and genuine hospitality means that I will definitely be back next time I'm looking for a great spot for a special meal. Source
Urbanspoon
December 19th, 2014
A winning trifecta Excellent food, flawless service and a relaxing, romantic atmosphere ! LIKES IT Having recently moved to Newcastle from Sydney, I am keen to find restaurants comparable in class (for want of a better word) to those usually found in major cities. That's not to say I haven't had many a disappointing meal in Sydney, but I've also had some fantastic dining experiences there. After dining at Paymasters last night, I'd comfortably put this restaurant up against any fine dining restaurant in Sydney. Here's why FOOD An appealing menu that contains enough tempting choices to satisfy just about anybody. - Entrees My partner had the 'Warmed Chorizo and Granny Smith Apple Salad'. What a surprising dish! I've not seen anything similar before. The pairing of the chorizo with the apple is very clever and makes for a perfect summer entree. Very tasty! I went for a more traditional entree Garlic Prawns'. A perennial favourite and sometimes I just don't feel that adventurous. This dish did not disappoint. While this classic dish is usually overloaded with garlic (well, the name is a giveaway and who does't love garlic?) the chef appears to be a little lighter handed. While the garlic flavour is most definitely present, it was not so overpowering that I could not enjoy other more subtle flavours in this delicious sauce - not that I could tell you what those flavours were other than Yum!. The prawns were served, perhaps unusually, in a basket made of a scrumptious, light filo pastry. It's the little differences that set dishes apart. Mind you, I lost half my entree to my partner who couldn't resist this tasty meal. Well, I did shamelessly pinch some of his entree... All's fair in love and food ! - Mains My partner had the 'Spanish Paella'. While I did not try any of this dish for fear of leaving insufficient room for my own generously sized meal, I have to say that it was visually appealing. The rice was an inviting golden yellow colour, and there was a pleasing mix of seafood (mussels, prawns, calamari, fish), chorizo and chicken. He informed me that it was delicious. I had the 'Wagyu Rump Cap' which was juicy and tender, and cooked to a perfect medium-rare. This was served with roasted butternut pumpkin, asparagus, and ultra yummy sage butter. Both of us felt extremely satisfied and pleased after our meals ! My only regret was the big lunch I had that day, preventing me from squeezing in a dessert. Next time! SERVICE and ATMOSPHERE The waitstaff were spot on with both their attentiveness and manner. I never wondered if we'd been forgotten (who hasn't had that infuriating experience in other restaurants before?), nor did I feel as though they were hovering. Rather, they just seemed to magically appear as needed and always with a smile. Rodney, the restaurant manager was very accommodating with respect to our request for a romantic table. We were treated to a lovely table outside, with a very pleasing view of the foreshore and harbour. He told us that we could expect to have birds singing in the trees around us and that it would be a delightful accompaniment to a romantic dinner. He was right! I couldn't have enjoyed the setting more! When our meal was over, Rodney came to our table to ask how we had enjoyed it and I'm sure he was pleased with our gushing enthusiasm. He then asked us to wait while he brought out some photos of the Paymaster building from days of yore. What a treat! He showed us photos from when the building was originally built and in use for its intended purpose, and through to its sad demise (as is often the fate of old buildings until someone comes along and sees the beauty in the bones). It is clear that Rodney loves this restaurant, and to quote him, This place is more than just a restaurant. And he is right, of course. Like any old building that has been lovingly restored, it is a living history. What a charming way to end our meal. (We will so definitely be back!!). Source
Urbanspoon
December 19th, 2014
Paymasters has legendary status. The affable, charming Randolph is still there welcoming dinners although Rod has moved out of the kitchen to front of house. Come to think of it he was always there even when cheffing. The new chef has carried the baton and food remains at the very top of enticing cuisine. Romantic, family or large group Paymasters delivers. Definitely a place to eat in Newcastle. Visited May 2014 Source
Trip Advisor
May 22nd, 2014
Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Lovely staff and prompt service. Marty May 4th, 2014
Amazing Wedding Breakfast Reception When we decided to have a sunrise wedding with a breakfast reception we looked no further than Paymasters as our venue. Having enjoyed breakfast here a number of times we knew we would be getting the best and thats exactly what we got! Rodney, Randolf and the team could not have been more accommodating. They set the room from start to finish laying our table runners, placing the centre pieces and setting a table for our wishing well. We had a set menu with many choices for our guests as well as coffee, fresh juices and croissants on the tables. Our family and friends all raved about the quality of the food and the exceptional service that was provided and also about how reasonably priced it was. Rodney & Randolf made it so easy for me to plan our special day, nothing was a problem and it was a stress free experience. We can't thank them enough for everything that they did for us, the staff are friendly, the food is to die for and every visit is amazing. Visited November 2013 Source
Trip Advisor
November 12th, 2013
Consistently top quality The first time we came to Paymasters, for a Sunday breakfast, we decided we wanted our wedding reception here - and never looked anywhere else. The owner was immediately welcoming and friendly the staff equally friendly, attentive and efficient the food, coffee and beverages were of the highest class. Since then we've dined here regularly and have continued to experience the same quality of friendly service and amazingly good food. We did indeed have our wedding reception at Paymasters, and the Executive Chef could not have done more for us. They set up the room, including laying table runners we had bought, setting up the place cards and tables for gifts and the cake. Our guests loved having their own choice of menu and drinks, and all commented on the quality of the food and the friendly service. They all knew we had treated them to something very special, yet we were surprised how affordable the event was. We've read other Paymasters reviews since then and echo all the praise for Randalph and Rodney, and their teams. They are just consistently excellent. Visited October 2013 Source
Trip Advisor
November 12th, 2013
Excellent Our group of 30 was catered for extremely well. Fresh, creative food served hot and quick. They have a bill splitting policy and issue numbers for each person in a group to run their own bill on - first time I've ever seen this and a great idea to solve the problems that arise in bill splitting. Staff were on the ball, all quality. I'm only visiting Newcastle but next time I'm back I'll return. The head chef clearly has a passion for food and the restaurant, it's not just a job. Visited October 2013 Source
Trip Advisor
November 12th, 2013
Fantastic food & views Brilliant menu that catered to everyone's tastes - very fresh produce beautifully presented. We had booked out the lower level of the restaurant for our function on Saturday - everyone was incredibly impressed. The views over the foreshore were just lovely - Randolph was extremely attentive & helpful as were Rodney, Michael and Michelle (?). We could not fault this lovely restaurant. Not cheap but well worth the cost. Good selection of drinks & you must taste the Sticky Date Pancake with Rum & Raisin Icecream - it is to die for! Visited October 2013 Source
Trip Advisor
November 12th, 2013
Great Restaurant DINER REVIEW OCT 05, 2013 LIKES IT I decided to try Paymasters for my daughters 18th birthday, and it was well worth the visit. We were given a table by the doors overlooking the park and Honeysuckle wharf. We had a three course meal each and it was all delicious. The best were the deserts. I had a white lindte chocolate cheescake with fresh raspberries, it was excellent. I will be recommending it to my friends. Source Urbanspoon anonymous October 21st, 2013
A delectable meal DINER REVIEW OCT 07, 2012 LIKES IT What a wonderful meal. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. We were dining with my grandparents who had a few queries about the menu and the Chef came out himself to answer the myriad of questions and was wonderfully patient with them. Now every time people say they are going to Newcastle I point them in the right direction and rave about the Camembert baked in flaky puff pastry with a caramelised onion jam. It is one of the best things I have ever eaten. The steak was excellent and so was the taste of the Char Sui pork fillet I stole. The Bittersweet Lindt Chocolate Pudding was SUBLIME! I'll definitely be back, even if it's just to have the Camembert and the pudding! Source Urbanspoon anonymous October 21st, 2013
Mobile review DINER REVIEW AUG 01, 2013 Great spot for lunch on a sunny day with friends from Sydney. Food was delicious and service excellent. Our friends were very impressed and they have dined all over the world! I think we'll go back for breakfast! Source Urbanspoon anonymous October 21st, 2013
excellent service, mouth watering food!! DINER REVIEW JUN 18, 2013 LIKES IT Had my birthday dinner here on Saturday night (15Jun13). My guests and I were blown away by our experience! The staff was amazing, friendly and attentive. The Chef Rodney came to our table to take us through the menu from entre to dessert. The food was elegantly presented, mouth wateringly tasty, good serve sizes and very reasonably priced. There were a few guests with food allergies and they were catered for perfectly! Even paying was a breeze cos they do tabs for each individual which almost NO restaurant does in Newcastle!! We all left very happy and satisfied! I would DEFINITELY recommend this restaurant for any special event! Source Urbanspoon anonymous October 21st, 2013
First timers to paymasters. Will definitely return. The service and the food was amazing. Great place Hayden. October 5th, 2013
From the first moment I made contact, to reserve a table, this place made me feel very welcome. Such a friendly voice taking the order. This friendly theme carried on as we arrived for breakfast and were greeted by the wait staff. Fantastic views of the Hunter River, excellent atmosphere, and great food. The owner took time out to explain the history of the place to us as we settled the bill. The Chef ran out of the restaurant to catch us..he said he had heard our interest in the history of the place, and said he had more to add... so he explained a lot about the place, and the old water line marked on the road... he even shared kitchen secrets about the meal we had... and all of this AFTER we had paid!! Easy parking across the road on weekends, short stroll to anywhere. We have lived here 20 years, and had never been to Paymasters... WHAT WERE WE THINKING!!! can't wait to go back. Jo P Jo P
Newcastle, Australia
May 7th, 2013
I recently celebrated my 40th birthday at Paymasters and had a wonderful night with my family and friends. It was really enjoyable for all, including my coeliac daughter, whom they made a special effort for. It was a night I will never forget. Gilliati
Newcastle, Australia
April 1st, 2013
We prebooked to have breakfast here on a Sunday. We had a great table on the upper balcony with a view and a wonderful breeze. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Do try their fresh juices. We had two a pear and ginger and a watermelon, apple and mint concoction. And we couldn't resist the banana pecan pancake dessert. All beautifully presented, very tasty and better than expected. Nice chat with the owner. (Would like to add - we understand social media is a great marketing tool. You are doing everything right in your restaurant. Happy customers will leave a positive review without being prompted too much...)) Highly recommend this place! Powsacrossamer
Winchester, UK
February 27th, 2013
Attended a retirement function one Saturday night in January at the Paymasters. The location was great with views of the foreshore & harbour. The area was downstairs & the cool breeze coming through the opening was welcome on a hot humid evening. The area created a lovely atmosphere. The service was fantastic and the food exceptional. The menu was varied for both entree & main meal. The meals sizes were quite generous. I liked the idea of the way each person or couple were given a number for drink charges and at end of night these were tallied & each person given an account to pay on leaving. Armadeus
Huntervalley
February 27th, 2013
We had a mid week dinner in Feb 2013 at Paymasters and all I can say is it was absolutely wonderful. Not normally a cocktail drinker, I have to say I loved the Berry Bomb! The afternoon ocean breeze was so nice coming into the restaurant as we waited for our meals. All meals were absolutely wonderful and the portion sizes were very generous. My favourite dish was the gluten free pancake dessert. After that my partner nearly had to roll me home I was so full! It would be a great place to go to celebrate any special occasion or just have a nice night out like we did. We certainly would not hesitate in returning to Paymasters again.Wonderful. Schnitzel 24
Gunnedath, Australia
February 10th, 2013
We have been having our annual business meeting, followed by lunch here for last 5 years. Our meeting starts early, 930am, and the staff are always happy to accommodate us using the upstairs room even at such an early hour. They are also happy to serve coffee before they officially open for the day. Lunch is consistently good - garlic prawns are a house specialty and never disappoint. All of my colleagues continue to be happy with the service, facilities and food and we look forward to meeting here every November December. Thanks for being so helpful and accommodating of our requests. Keeps us coming back. Justine the goddess
Newcastle, Australia
January 28th, 2013